Whilst knoshing on broiled tilapia and shrimp at Joe’s Crab Shack last night, I innocently offered the question “Who recorded the song that is playing?” As I washed down my entree with ice water and neatly dabbed my napkin at the corner of my mouth, our friend’s teenage son (who was sitting quietly across the table from me) twiddled his wireless device and a minute later handed it over to me.

As I looked at the display it slowly dawned on me what I was viewing. The device had sampled the music and provided a list of song titles (with the artists) that matched the sample!  WTF!? 

Crimony! I need to get out more. I had no flippin’ clue that this capability was available for use outside the NSA!

There is a saying that any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable with magic. That was the case for me last night.

